El Dégas Story

Talk about and show off your El Degas instruments here.
sablotin

El Dégas Story

Post by sablotin »

Hello, new member here. I’ve been visiting your site periodically for a while but decided to register a few weeks ago. I will show you the El Dégas I own (of course) but will also tell you how I got it and my relationship with it.

First off, I started playing guitar in 1993. I was listening to a lot of music (mostly heavy and trash metal) and I thought it might be cool to play some songs. I quickly got hooked and started writing songs with a few friends. We then started a band and played together for almost ten years.

The first guitar I got was a BC Rich Warlock. Sounded great, played like shit!! :mrgreen: But still, it was my main guitar. I only had a 20 watts practice amp and needed something to play along with the guys so I looked into the local classified to try and find something cheap. I found somebody who was selling a Peavey Studio Pro 50 for about a 100$. I got there with a buddy of mine who knew a lot more than I did at the time about music stuff and looked at the amp. The guy also had three Boss pedals (distortion, phaser and 5 band eq) and a crappy guitar with no string, the bridge and tailpiece on the ground beside it and about an inch (I might be exaggerating a bit) of crap on top of the fret board, we couldn’t even see the wood underneath. I negotiated the amp and pedals and then my friend told the guy he did not need his guitar anymore anyways so he just might give it to me... and he agreed. He told us it was a 1973 El Dégas guitar with DiMarzio pick-ups and that he was the second owner. So I came back home with that guitar.